Students from across 15 different schools in the South West participated in this year’s Cinesnaps, which saw a number of film guest incursions, including animator Mike Dunn presenting on the dynamics of XR technologies, IndigifestOZ Koorda Kelton Pell sharing his experiences and an Acting Up workshop with Olivia Nardini from Swimming for Gold; along with excursions to cinemas, including a Q&A screening of CinefestOZ 2019 Film Prize winner H is for Happiness with lead actor Daisy Axon.

The program also engaged with 40 secondary teachers across 10 schools from Harvey to Margaret River with indigenous guests Dot West and Jub Clerc hosting a unique professional development session.

The Cinesnaps Short Film Competition, voted on by jury members Myles Pollard, Annie Murtagh-Monks and Kate Separovich, saw Poppy Treloar from Georgiana Molloy Anglican School take out the title for her accomplished short Sand Box. James Kenworthy and Cooper Warrick from Cape Naturaliste College were runners up for their heist short The Decoy.

Madeleine Abbott from Busselton Senior High School won the Champion Teacher award. Behind every great kid is a great teacher, supporting and encouraging them on the way to achieving their dreams. The Cinesnaps Short Film Competition returns in 2021.
Check out the CineOnline content offering students unique opportunities to engage with leading Australian filmmakers and industry professionals through a range of initiatives.
The Festival also partnered with Busselton Jetty to screen Rubber Jellyfish as a free community film while several community groups got together to host their own Community Screening via CinefestOZ’s On Demand options online.

Cinesnaps is supported by Community Partner Rio Tinto.