Short Film Competition

Our annual Cinesnaps Short Film Competition encourages young, aspiring South West filmmakers, YouTubers and Vloggers to create and showcase original short films of 3-5 minutes. Participants need to be 15-18 years old and attending secondary school in the South West.


Winners: James Kenworthy and Cooper Warrick, for their film 5 Minute Story

Runner Ups: Skye Allen and Kaila Walz with The Watch

The theme for 2019 was “The Watch” and this one certainly generated some fantastic entries.  

The competition aims to showcase the talents of this next generation of filmmakers, submissions are shortlisted to 7 films screened at a glamorous, youth-focused, red carpet Grand Finale event during CinefestOZ Festival week. Finalists receive feedback from a panel of high-profile, Australian film industry professionals before the winner and runner-up teams are announced.

Cinesnaps Grand Finale 2019

The general public, students and their families, as well as teaching professionals and film guests attended the Grand Finale youth event on 29 August.  Patrons enjoyed screenings of the 7 finalist short films, and shared in the excitement.

Each film received feedback from the esteemed Cinesnaps Jury Panel, chaired by Cinesnaps Patron Myles Pollard.  Other 2019 jury members were producer Sonia Borella, and actor Sophia Forrest.

Completing the event was the announcement of the winning and runner up teams. Huge congratulations to all students involved!


Film Classifications Guide
Student Filmmaking Masterclass

Each year, Cinesnaps organises Filmmaking Masterclasses to help students upskill and develop ideas for the annual Short Film Competition. Students and media teachers are invited to be part of this unique opportunity to learn from accomplished Australian film industry professionals.

2019 Masterclasses were held in March in Busselton and Bunbury and students heard from Indigenous filmmakers Jodie Bell and Vincent Carter. For information on the next Cinesnaps Masterclass, email [email protected]

2018 Cinesnaps Short Film Finalists


Winners: James Kenworthy & Cooper Warwick, from Cape Naturaliste College, for their film Gateway 

Runner Up: Jaxon D’Ath, from Manea Senior College, for his film Mirror Dimension

IndigifestOZ Student Short Film Project

In 2015, CinefestOZ expanded its Indigenous content by creating IndigifestOZ, a fantastic new program celebrating Community within the overall Festival.

In 2016 a short film project was undertaken with a group of Indigenous girls at Busselton Senior High School. This project concentrated more on ‘the journey’ than the final product. In the process, the project developed into a film with heart. The short film was screened at the 2016 Cinesnaps Grand Finale, alongside other student finalist films.

In 2017, CinefestOZ continued to work with local high school groups to foster Indigenous student talent and passion for filmmaking. CinefestOZ hopes that engagement levels by South West Indigenous students will grow as our IndigifestOZ program develops in the future.

If you’re interested in being involved please contact the Community Manager at [email protected]