2023 Winners

The 2023 Cinesnaps Short Film Competition winners have been announced for 2023″s theme The Switch.

Margaret River Senior High School duo Joshua Yates and Seth Weadley topped a swag of film students from across the South West, Great Southern, Geraldton & The Kimberley Regions in the 10-12 category. Great Southern Grammar students Maxwell Cruse, Finn Thomas, Thomas North & Menari Deegan brought home the winning prize for the Year 7-9 category.

Runner-ups for the year 7-9 and 10-12 categories respectively were Great Southern Grammar student Edward Baker and Cape Naturaliste College students Aysiah Uren, Jordan Lay, Nell Davenport & Dieter Spurgeon.

Year 10-12 Winner: Joshua Yates and Seth Weadley (Margaret River Senior High School) with The Switch

Year 10 -12 Runner-up: Aysiah Uren, Jordan Lay, Nell Davenport and Dieter Spurgeon (Cape Naturaliste College) with Switched

Year 7-9 Winners: Maxwell Cruse, Finn Thomas, Thomas North & Menari Deegan with

 The Switcher

Year 7-9 Runner-up:  Edward Baker with  Noah’s Banana Boat

Other Finalists

Callum Synnot with Butchers Track

Kobe Thomas, Ethan Tomlinson, Jonathan Barry & Yuuta Sumitomo with Fake Friends

Chloe Francis with One Lucky Citizen

Colin Ferreira with Reality’s Edge

Cinesnaps Winners 1

Winner Yr 10-12 Joshua Yates and Seth Weadley, with MahVeen Shahraki (Jury), Ron Mutambiranwa (Rio Tinto), Myles Pollard (Jury Chair) and Eddie Baroo (Jury) 

Cinesnaps Winners 2

Runner Ups Yr 10-12  Aysiah Uren, Nell Davenport, Jordan Lay and Dieter Spurgeon with Ron Mutambiranwa (Rio Tinto).

2022 Winners

Year 10-12 Winner: Henry Baker (Great Southern Grammar) with Lemon and the Pelicans

Year 10 -12 Runner-up: Joshua Yates, Seth Weadley and Asher Muir (Margaret River Senior High School) with Alone

Year 7-9 Winner: Colin Ferreira with Mars… Maybe Not

Year 7-9 Runner-up:  Edward Baker, Maxwell Cruse and Thomas North with  W_FILES

Other Finalists

Cooper Williams with Aversion

Declan Fahie with The Comical Conquests of Captain Cardboard

Ava Evans, Matilda Cole, Katelyn Bunn, Madi Macartney, Emily Erdmann, and Sophie Anderson with Ruminate

Cinesnaps Winners 3

2021 Winners

2021 year 10-12 Winner: Aiden Gillett and Jake Holland with their film Treasure Heist

2021 year 7-9 Winner: Jorja Plant, Chloe Basten, Brooklyn Kiddie, Ty Guretti, Liam Thomas and Neve Mullinger with their short film Treasure

2021 Runner Ups: Year 10-12 student Josh Clark with his film One Man’s Trash, and year 7-9 students Jordyn Brown and Kaila Byrne with their film My Treasure

Other Finalists for Yr 10-12 were Mia SwanepoelThe Treasure of Courage Henry Baker and Edward BakerPillow Dude and the unexpected weird attack of Mr Bellybutton Fluff  |  Julia Spencer, Darcy EaglesThe Meaning of Treasure  |  Ella Demarchi – Sincerely H  

Cinesnaps Winners 4

2020 Winners

Winner: Poppy Treloar, from Georgiana Molloy Anglican School for her short film Sandbox

Runner Ups: James Kenworthy and Cooper Warwick for their short film The Decoy

Watch all 7 finalist films – in screening order: Suitcase Story, A Suitcase Story, Lost and Found, In Case, Nonentity, Sandbox, The Decoy

2019 Winners

Winners: James Kenworthy & Cooper Warrick, from Cape Naturaliste College, for their film 5 Minute Story

Runner Ups: Skye Allen and Kaila Walz for their film The Watch

Other 2019 finalist films were: Tempus, One in a Billion, Butterfly, Late or Early, The Watch

2018 Cinesnaps Short Film Finalists

Winners: James Kenworthy & Cooper Warwick, from Cape Naturaliste College, for their film Gateway 

Runner Up: Jaxon D’Ath, from Manea Senior College, for his film Mirror Dimension

Our other 2018 Film Finalists were: Broken, Agateophobia, Reflective, Critical Reflection