Short Film Competition

Our annual Cinesnaps Short Film Competition encourages young, aspiring South West filmmakers, YouTubers and Vloggers to create and showcase original short films of 3-5 minutes. Participants need to be 15-18 years old and attending secondary school in the South West.

2020 Competition is still open! Download the Entry Pack and get started on your creation, working to the theme of “Suitcase”.  It’s free to enter and closes 30 June 2020.

Following social distancing practices doesn’t mean you need to stop being creative! You may need to be just a little more creative in how you approach the project than in previous years, but it can still be done!  We’re lucky to live in a time where many of us have the ability to share content through technological means, and to live in the South West, a region where there is plenty of space to film without having to be in contact with others. Family members living in your space could also be quite handy!

The competition aims to showcase the talents of this next generation of filmmakers, submissions are shortlisted to 7 films screened at a glamorous, youth-focused, Grand Finale event during CinefestOZ Festival week. Finalists receive feedback from a panel of high-profile, Australian film industry professionals before the winner and runner-up teams are announced.


2019 Winners: James Kenworthy and Cooper Warrick, for their film 5 Minute Story

2019 Runner Ups: Skye Allen and Kaila Walz with The Watch

The theme for 2019 was “The Watch” and this one certainly generated some fantastic entries.

Cinesnaps Grand Finale 2019

The general public, students and their families, as well as teaching professionals and film guests attended the Grand Finale youth event on 29 August.  Patrons enjoyed screenings of the 7 finalist short films, and shared in the excitement.

Each film received feedback from the esteemed Cinesnaps Jury Panel, chaired by Cinesnaps Patron Myles Pollard.  Other 2019 jury members were producer Sonia Borella, and actor Sophia Forrest.

Completing the event was the announcement of the winning and runner up teams. Huge congratulations to all students involved!

Film Classifications Guide
Student Filmmaking Masterclass

Each year, Cinesnaps organises Filmmaking Masterclasses to help students upskill and develop ideas for the annual Short Film Competition. Students and media teachers are invited to be part of this unique opportunity to learn from accomplished Australian film industry professionals.

2019 Masterclasses were held in March in Busselton and Bunbury and students heard from Indigenous filmmakers Jodie Bell and Vincent Carter. For information on the next Cinesnaps Masterclass, email [email protected]

2018 Cinesnaps Short Film Finalists

Winners: James Kenworthy & Cooper Warwick, from Cape Naturaliste College, for their film Gateway 

Runner Up: Jaxon D’Ath, from Manea Senior College, for his film Mirror Dimension

Our other 2018 Film Finalists were:

IndigifestOZ Student Short Film Project

In 2015, CinefestOZ expanded its Indigenous content by creating IndigifestOZ, a fantastic program celebrating Community within the overall Festival. Through Cinesnaps and IndigifestOZ, CinefestOZ has a desire to engage more Indigenous youth in filmmaking, and to support them on their journey to becoming strong visual storytellers.

Each year the Cinesnaps IndigifestOZ team has worked with indigenous students across the

South West to create a short film. With the support of their amazing schools, teachers and support staff, students concentrate on ‘the journey’ of filmmaking through the creation of their short film.

2019 saw 2 schools take part in the IndigifestOZ student short film project; Busselton SHS & Harvey SHS. Students at Busselton Senior High School created a satire of the horror genre, while students at Harvey SHS began creating a documentary style piece about a special project done by the Follow the Dream students at the school.

Past projects include:

If you’re interested in being involved please contact the Community Manager at [email protected]